May. 8th, 2016

the_rck: (Default)
I tried to get Scott to go to the library yesterday, but he refused. I wanted some DVDs so that I’d have something to watch while drinking nasty stuff this morning. He didn’t see why I would need anything, so I’m stuck with what we own. The library won’t open for a few hours yet, so I can’t make him go now. I’ve been looking at our shelves, but everything that interests me either isn’t captioned or is a musical (Scott and Cordelia are still asleep, so I can’t have the volume up very high at all). I really can’t face navigating Netflix or Hulu right now. It’s too difficult.

I’m having trouble getting the clean out drink down. It’s really nasty and salty and has an aftertaste that bothers me a lot. I really wish I could drink something else in between swallows, but I’m not supposed to. I’m also not sure that I’m going to get all of it down before my stomach rebels. I used a flavor packet, but I can’t taste that at all. I’ve been using a straw, but I think that just prolongs the agony. I can drink a lot faster without it. The straw was suggested to me as possibly helping with the taste, but it’s not doing that because most of the nastiness is in the back of my throat.

I’m not nearly as hungry as I expected to be. I feel terrible in other ways, but I’m okay on that front. I suppose the nausea is actually helpful on that front.

Scott and Cordelia tried to go see the Captain America movie a second time last night, but they got to the theater after the showing they were going to had sold out. The friends they were to meet had gotten tickets. Scott and Cordelia went to Barnes & Noble to wait out the movie (Scott couldn’t persuade Cordelia to pick out any books). Then they met up with the friends to hang out for a while.

I’m not entirely pleased by that as it meant that they got home well after 11:00 and that I didn’t get to sleep until a lot later than I’d hoped. I’m still pretty desperate for sleep, but I’m unlikely to get any until tomorrow. Hopefully, at that point, I won’t be too tired and in too much pain (from lack of sleep not from the procedure) to be able to sleep.
the_rck: (Default)
::sighs:: Okay. I’m on a half hour break from drinking the solution because bad things nearly happened. Nausea, etc. is supposed to be a rare thing with this, but I’ve got it hugely. They say to take a break (30-45 minutes) and to rinse my mouth out and/or brush my teeth and then to go back to it. I really, really don’t want to, given how I feel, but I don’t see that I have a choice.

I got through four glasses, so I have four more to go (and then eight between 5:00 and 7:00 and eight between 3:00 and 5:00). I’m really not sure I’m going to be able to do this.

And a little later… A half hour break has not helped at all. I really don’t know what to do. They didn’t give me a phone number to call if things weren’t working, just a number that’s good weekdays during business hours.
the_rck: (Default)
I managed to figure out where to call to leave a message for the on call resident. He called back pretty promptly. He said he’d call in an anti-nausea medication because, by that point, it had been more than an hour and I still felt sick. (I still feel sick now, almost three hours later. I can’t tell if some of that is stress.) Scott tried to pick up the prescription, and the pharmacy didn’t have it. None of the affiliated pharmacies in town do either. That means the resident probably sent it to UHS which won’t be open until tomorrow morning, so I guess I have to call again.

The resident also recommended adding some form of flavoring. Of the options he mentioned, the only one that won’t make me sicker is powdered Gatorade. Everything else has aspartame and/or sucralose. Scott go some powdered Gatorade, and we’re gambling that powdered lemon-lime Gatorade will mix up in an allowable color (not red, pink, orange, or purple). The instructions on the bottle for the clean out solution specifically say not to add anything to it, but…

The resident said that, if neither of these options work, my doctor may decide to admit me so that they can use a feeding tube to get the stuff into me and an IV for stronger anti-nausea meds. I’m very unenthusiastic about that option.

I’ve also been drinking water because I could tell I was very dehydrated.

Okay, time to call again.
the_rck: (Default)
I’m taking Zofran for the nausea. I’m not sure how much it’s helping, but I just got through the last of the first round of solution a little bit ago. In another hour and a half, I’m supposed to start the second round.

I can’t say that adding Gatorade powder helped either.

I’m a little concerned. Zofran isn’t supposed to be used with Wellbutrin if there are other options because of the risk of seratonin syndrome. I’m hopeful that twenty four hours won’t be long enough for me to have problems, and, also, I'm on a pretty low dose of Wellbutrin. Zofran also isn’t great with tamoxifen because it keeps the body from processing and eliminating the tamoxifen. I’m pretty sure that that’s not a big worry given the whole twenty four hour thing.

Okay. Time for lots of water and for some ginger tea.

February 2023

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12 131415161718
19 202122 232425
262728    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:04 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios