the_rck: (Default)
[personal profile] the_rck
My first PT appointment isn't until the 9th of November. This sucks, but I can see why they wouldn't consider my situation urgent. I mean, I can't even label it urgent, and I'm living with it.

Scott has promised to work on the couch this weekend. I think some plywood under the cushion where I usually sit would help immensely. Just moving to a different part of the couch helps some. It's not as helpful as standing up, but it's less exhausting.

I've been doing some pacing to relieve the discomfort of standing (or at least to change it). I can feel in my thigh that the muscles are not best pleased by this, but they're not screaming as loudly as they do when I sit. Maybe this will lead to longer stints on the treadmill as I recover. I can hope, anyway.

The babysitting I did yesterday went well. I found myself amazed by how tiny the eighteen month old little girl is. I knew, of course, as I see her most weekdays, but somehow it hadn't really gotten through my head. She was amazingly mellow about being left with me, even when she woke up from her nap. That one had worried me because her mother had been home when she went to sleep. A lot of little kids would freak out over that. (She woke over an hour early from her nap. We'd thought we had plenty of time.)

It's rainy and miserable here again. I'm not looking forward to the library shifts-- The kids will be dreadful due to not having had any chance to run. Even worse, the librarian will be out, so some poor substitute teacher will be trying to ride herd on the madness.

I hope the rain lets up soon. Tomorrow's soccer game is likely to be miserable, but I'd rather not have it rescheduled to the first of November (I don't think it can be rescheduled to this Sunday. The other team already has a make up game that day). I just want soccer season to be over. Practice last night was wet, cold and miserable. The coach came close to calling it off in the middle.

Date: 2009-10-23 06:17 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] retsuko.livejournal.com
Good luck on the library shifts; I hear your pain. I know it runs counter to the idea of the library, but maybe you could have five or ten minutes of loud music/dance time? Then the kids would be exhausted enough (or at least momentarily) to do some reading. I used the Macarena that way when I taught in Japan.

Date: 2009-10-23 11:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evalerie.livejournal.com
I'm surprised that they don't! Most of the teachers at my kids' school have various ways of letting the kids get up and be physical in an organized way in the classroom. Like for example, the teacher who Arlo had for second and third grade had a song she used to play on the boom box in the classroom where it told the kids to do various different moves, in kind of a cool, "Can you keep up with me?" kind of a way. I used to like to dance along with the kids to it -- especially fun as I got more and more pregnant with Corbin. Everybody moved in tandem and there weren't any wild moves that might hit someone, so it worked okay to pack the whole class into the "circle time" rug and have them moving around to the song.

Ok, I am pretty far afield on a tangent now. :)

Date: 2009-10-24 04:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lady-of-mists.livejournal.com
The weather here has been really miserable too. Today, it's not raining, but it's still gloomy.

On the other hand, it's my Mom's birthday, so that's a good thing. Maybe it will clear up for a couple of days where you are too!

February 2023

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12 131415161718
19 202122 232425
262728    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 09:48 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios