the_rck: (Default)
[personal profile] the_rck
I've realized why I can't go downtown today-- It's a shower day, and my hair will be wet for hours. I don't want to go out for a prolonged time with my hair wet unless I have to. When I was still walking Cordelia to school, I did so with wet hair regularly, but that's only a few minutes outside, and my hood helps a lot. (When it was really, really cold and windy, I wore a hat under my hood. It didn't do great things for my wet hair, and it probably wasn't all that good for the hat, but it worked.)

Scott had his first PT session last night. The clinic where he's going is in Canton, so it's kind of on his way home from work. Of course, yesterday, he got off work early and had nearly an hour and a half to kill on his way to his appointment. He likes this clinic better than the sports medicine clinic he went to last year (for the same problem). He says it's smaller and more personalized. Hopefully, this time he'll actually find time to do his home exercises. Last year, he didn't, but he was going two or three times a week, so it didn't matter as much. I also hope that he doesn't run into the scheduling conflicts that ended his PT last year. I'd like to see this problem (his knees) resolved.

Of course, it's kind of depressing to see him getting PT for his knees when I have the same basic problem but am simply told to lose weight. I know I'm heavy, and I know it's not good for my knees, but it would be nice if I had some exercises to do to strengthen the muscles. Maybe I can get Scott to teach me the exercises they give him.

So far, the headache has not returned. I'm on day four of coffee with stevia. If prolonged use of stevia caused the headache, I'd expect it to come back in the next couple of days.

I am noticing that stevia has a distinct taste to it. It's subtle and not nasty, but it makes things taste a bit peculiar, not like what I'm used to. It's not as strong a flavor as, say, honey has, but it's definitely there.

Date: 2014-03-27 10:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hopeofdawn.livejournal.com
The more I read about it, the more I realize that the medical community as a whole seems to have a really bad obesity bias, and the more skeptical I get about *any* doctor that prescribes 'losing weight' for any kind of treatment plan. I really recommend this blog--she's very vehement, but she has the studies and numbers to back up what she's saying. She also has posts that give advice on how to talk to your doctor (or get a new one) to get the treatment you need. Here's a good starting point: http://danceswithfat.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/healthcare-fault-and-fat-people/ (http://danceswithfat.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/healthcare-fault-and-fat-people/)

February 2023

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12 131415161718
19 202122 232425
262728    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 10:06 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios