the_rck: (Default)
[personal profile] the_rck
I'm fairly tired. Scott and I ended up staying up pretty late last night because we were doing laundry. I needed that clean and dry before I could go to bed because all three of my bras were in the wash. Being without a bra wasn't comfortable. Well, my right breast was a heck of a lot happier. It's just that my left breast hurt a good bit more. I'm very tempted to lie down for a while, but I've had a lot of water, so I know that, if I do lie down, I'll be up every fifteen minutes or so. I've also had a couple of slices of turkey bacon, and bacon is usually a problem that way.

I'm a little worried-- I don't think I've got puffiness on my left breast any more, but the bit that was puffy is redder than it was and is still kind of sore. If it's still like that on Monday, I'll probably need to call the nurses again.

Cordelia apparently only has one pair of short socks without holes and wore that pair all last week. We found this out because she complained that her feet stink and then added that it was probably due to the socks. I wanted to bang my head on something because there's no way that we'll know to buy more socks or whatever if she doesn't tell us she needs them. I've ordered her some stuff from Sock Dreams, but I think we many end up going to Target to get a couple of pairs to see her through the next few days.

Cordelia's starting to recover from her cold. Yesterday, she didn't take Dayquil and was at about the same level of symptoms all day that she'd been a couple of days before with the Dayquil. She's still having trouble mastering child safety caps, so there were a couple of days when she took nothing rather than get me out of bed to open the bottle. Me telling her that she should has no effect whatsoever.

It's a home game this weekend. Unfortunately, the game doesn't start until 3:30, so traffic will be bad all afternoon and most of the evening. Scott's current target for the grocery shopping is about 4:00.

I didn't end up making the second phone call I needed to yesterday. I hope that Monday isn't too late. I don't see why it would be, but who knows?

I'm thinking that, on Tuesday, Scott and I should leave here ten minutes earlier than we would normally and take Cordelia's discarded books to her school library. The librarian says that she can use all of them, some for the collection and some to give to kids who don't have books at home. I've only vetoed a few of the discards, and those were all things that I pulled from my personal collection in hopes that Cordelia would read them (she never did because mom-cooties or some such).

I've got to weed my books. I'm not sure what to do with them once I've decided to discard them. I could take them to one of the local used book stores, but I don't want store credit because I don't want to buy any more books just now, and the amount they generally give in cash is trivial. Also, the one store I'm thinking of won't take romances, and I've got a few I'd like to discard. I suppose there's always the Friends of the Library for their book sale.

Date: 2015-10-10 08:37 pm (UTC)
zhelana: (Default)
From: [personal profile] zhelana
Our library, and a local synagogue both have book drives where you can drop off unwanted books. Check around, someone surely does.

Date: 2015-10-12 01:04 am (UTC)
zhelana: (Default)
From: [personal profile] zhelana

Strange. Though to be honest I dont know what either the library nor the synagogue does with their books, so maybe they're just selling them, too.

Date: 2015-10-10 10:35 pm (UTC)
maramcreates: Leliana (Dragon Age; DAI; playful) (Default)
From: [personal profile] maramcreates
There's just something about adolescents and logic, I don't know. Sometimes they're really surprising with their insights, and sometimes you're left to wonder what world they live in. I played an MMORPG for a while where I had teamed up briefly with a kid that named his character Humpingbeast, and then he talked about starting a second character and wanting to call it Humpingpro. I am fairly certain that he was serious about the merit of these names, and...well...who was I to pop his bubble?
Anyway, good luck :)

Date: 2015-10-12 02:33 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evalerie.livejournal.com
I think someone on Arborparents said that Books By Chance will pick up bags of books from your doorstep and take them and sell them and give you money for them. That sounds like a nice deal to me. I have probably garbled some of the details, though, so if you want to do that you should probably check first.

February 2023

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12 131415161718
19 202122 232425
262728    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 06:26 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios