the_rck: (Default)
[personal profile] the_rck
We didn’t have our usual role playing session last night because the GM was down with a nasty headache. We also didn’t have people over for board games because Scott had to get up at 2:00 in order to be at work at 3:00. I was both sorry— I really miss seeing people other than Cordelia, Scott and my physical therapist— and glad. Not having people over meant that I didn’t have to get fully dressed. Wearing a shirt makes dealing with the compression pad considerably harder.

Scott is currently scheduled for 3:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. on Saturday. He thinks that him going in early is easier on me and Cordelia than him staying late is. I think that’s tied up in him thinking that I’m not likely to get my act together to prepare dinner in a timely manner. That may be correct, but I’m not likely to get back in the habit of doing it unless I’m forced to. I actually can do it now. The compression pad makes it awkward but not impossible.

I’m going to have to buckle down and move these boxes of books out of the living room today. The main barrier is taping them shut and labeling them. I can only do one or two before I need to rest because of the stooping involved. I’m not willing to get down on the floor to do the work because that generally hurts quite a bit and because I’m not sure how easily I could get back up again. But it really has to be done in the next four hours because the cleaning lady will come this afternoon. Of course, I’m pretty sure that the scissors have slipped between the cracks in the couch and are on the floor underneath now. I really, really don’t want to try to retrieve them, but I will need them.

I woke with a migraine again this morning. I don’t know what’s going on with that. It makes something like three times in the last couple of weeks. I suppose I should just be glad that taking Amerge helped. I don’t know— It seems wrong, somehow, to wake up with a headache instead of having sleep help make a headache go away. I’m not sure why it should given that headaches first thing in the morning has been the way of things for me for many, many years.

Of course, I’m not sure I’ve been sleeping well this week at all. I’ve been kind of dragging all day, every day, this week, and I have no idea what to do about it. Extra caffeine hasn’t helped. Sometimes, a big wallop of protein helps but sometimes not. I have to get up early tomorrow which will not be fun at all, but I guess I’ll manage.

I think I’m going to ask Scott not to get this particular coffee creamer again. It’s Bailey’s French vanilla (no alcohol), and I don’t like how it tastes at all. I think that the thing I dislike is a deliberate flavoring because it’s just a hint of alcoholic flavor. I’m not sure what the brand was of the creamer he bought last week. That was creme brulee flavored and overwhelmingly sweet. I needed a lot less of it to make the coffee palatable. I’m not sure that I actually liked it, however, so remembering what it was would be useful for asking Scott not to get it again. Right now, he’s grabbing things more or less at random with the idea that I’ll eventually find one that I like and write the specific brand and flavor on the grocery list every week until he knows.

Oh, damn. They just changed the timing on my colonoscopy without consulting me. They want to do it at 8:15 now and in mid-April instead of early March. The change in time means that there’s probably no point in my going to bed the night before. They want me drinking prep solution for a couple of hours, starting at 5:00 p.m. the night before, and that will mean not being able to sleep for hours after. Then, I’ll need to be up six hours before the procedure for thyroid medication and at five to three hours before for more prep solution (and no sleep after that). They say to take my morning meds four hours before the procedure, but I’m not sure how useful that will be given that that’s dead in the middle of the last set of doses of clean out solution. I will ask my psychiatrist about it tomorrow. It may be that she’ll tell me to skip the Wellbutrin that morning and just take my afternoon dose after the procedure. Oh, well, at least the only bad thing about the changed date is more time to get anxious about the whole thing. It’s just very frustrating that this doctor pretty much always reschedules things at least once.

Date: 2016-02-20 04:31 pm (UTC)
kyrielle: Middle-aged woman in profile, black and white, looking left, with a scarf around her neck and a white background (Default)
From: [personal profile] kyrielle
Honestly, for me, very early for the colonoscopy was _perfect_. There's nearly no sleeping once you start the first set of prep solution anyway, and having it be first thing in the morning let me at least eat soon after the procedure.

The other thing they didn't warn me that, in retrospect, should have been obvious is that the clean-out solution will leave your body prone to, uh, the expected side effects for a while afterward (they told me, when I asked how long before I should worry, that it should be just a day or two but give it up to a week to normalize).

February 2023

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12 131415161718
19 202122 232425
262728    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:29 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios