the_rck: (Default)
[personal profile] the_rck
Yesterday, I read library books and edited bits of the Sky High story. That's now almost 89K words (124 words short). I made a couple of false starts on another chapter for it that I know I need. I suspect this will be one that requires a lot of going back and yanking things out because they just don't fit together right.

Scott made it to the games library day and seems to have had fun with it. He and Cordelia did the library run but somehow managed not to check out one of my holds. They brought it home, and I'm now done with it, but they failed to check it out. I will be downtown on Thursday, and I may wait to return it until then, but I'd like to get it back sooner, so I don't know. It's a CD. I listened to it last night and didn't like it much. There's another hold on it, so somebody's going to be waiting for it.

I'm not sure why Scott and Cordelia aren't more careful when checking out my stuff. At least once a month, there's something not actually checked out, something left on the shelf, or something brought home that doesn't have my name on it. The screen will actually tell you what's going on in that direction as you scan things to check them out. It gives an error message when you try to take something that's not yours, and it counts down the number of still to be checked out but available for check out holds.

Scott and I are watching the first DVD of No Ordinary Family from Netflix. We have three episodes left on the DVD, but our time to watch is constrained by Cordelia not being interested, by other things Scott wants to watch, and by my difficulties being in the living room when it's hot. This week is supposed to stay relatively cool, so maybe we'll manage more.

I have four library CDs left to listen to and two movies on DVD. I also have the rest of season 4 of Person of Interest and the first DVD of some other series from Netflix. Person of Interest will need the most time since I've only watched the first four episodes of the season, but I will probably try the movies before that. Neither are all that long, and one of them is something I'm pretty sure I won't finish.

Which reminds me that I need to neaten up and post my DVD logging. That's starting to get long. I've got a list of single DVD things that the library has that I want to try. I suspect that a lot will end up being DNFs, but as they're library items, I don't feel particularly bad when I sample something that looks potentially iffy in terms of whether or not I'll like it and then only get ten minutes in.

The school year is almost over. I'm looking forward to being able to sleep in a bit. I don't know how Scott will adjust his schedule. I don't think he needs to get up quite so early if it's just him getting ready. He currently spends about half of his time hanging out with us and watching whatever Cordelia's got on. He could easily sleep another half hour to an hour and still get out the door on time.

I haven't signed Cordelia up for a driver's training class yet because of the expense. We need to get the loan finalized, and I need to make Scott actually look at the options and the prices and the state requirements. I can't commit $450 without his input as to whether or not we have it to spare. I also can't commit to it without Cordelia's input on scheduling. I need the answers by the end of this week at the latest (I'm not even sure there are still openings in the classes I'm looking at).

I think that Cordelia's simply not all that interested, and that Scott doesn't understand the amount of time required for each step. 120 hours of driving is a hell of a lot when it's coming in less than an hour a day. I can't see Scott routinely giving more than an hour a day to sitting in the car while Cordelia drives. There's likely to be a point when we're all okay with me as the licensed driver riding with her, but that will probably be very late in her learning time. Also, our car is with Scott all day, so it's not that I can take her out while he's working.

As far as I can tell, Scott hasn't even looked at the driver's training information I emailed him even though I've prompted him on it more than once. I would settle for him just saying that he knows I've looked at it and is willing to accept my decision. The only class possible this year starts on the 18th of this month. The. Only. One. Because of Cordelia's other time commitments there aren't going to be any other options for it until June 2019. Which will mean her not finishing the program until some time in 2020. Assuming we can make the timing and financing work then.

Date: 2018-06-05 11:15 pm (UTC)
ayebydan: by <user name="pureimagination"> (Default)
From: [personal profile] ayebydan
That sounds so frustrating. I hope you get the answers you need in time ect.

February 2023

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12 131415161718
19 202122 232425
262728    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 12:15 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios