the_rck: (Default)
[personal profile] the_rck
Scott and I ordered glasses yesterday. I got a pair with progressive lenses and a pair for more or less the distance at which I keep my laptop. I may order another cheap pair of reading glasses online, but I wanted to order the progressives face to face so that all the measurements were more likely to be accurate.

We had lunch at Bob Evans before the glasses shopping. The place was pretty empty, so the waitress gave us a lot of attention in terms of refilling my coffee cup and such.

Scott's going to take Cordelia back to order her prescription sunglasses that she can use for driving. The place where we went gives a big discount on a second pair. I don't know that it will happen today. It should, but it's really, really cold out there. We should go to the credit union before the end of the month, too.

There's no school today or tomorrow due to the cold which is compounded by the windchill. The district cancelled for today after the university (which never closes) cancelled almost everything for today and tomorrow. The school cancellation for tomorrow came at 10 a.m. today. I'd been expecting it any time the last twenty hours. I'm not sure why they didn't cancel for tomorrow sooner. If the university had already cancelled for Thursday then Hell really is freezing over.

Scott will have to go back to work on Friday. He's been on vacation because he was using up vacation days before losing them on his anniversary of hire on 1 February. Naturally, my one appointment this week is Friday morning. If it's anything like this cold then, I'll be taking a cab. It's worth the $11. Getting home by bus is less dangerous/unpleasant because it doesn't require standing at a bus stop.

I'm in a weird space right now because part of me wants Scott and Cordelia to go away and give me the time alone that I'm used to. I love them both dearly and enjoy spending time with them, but having them home for this long disrupts my routine. I tend not to do my PT or household chores. I also tend not to write. Given the weather, I really can't just kick them out.

We're not getting the chores done this week that I'd hoped to. Cleaning the bathroom walls and ceiling is proving harder than I'd hoped, and Scott thinks the painting should be done in warmer weather anyway. He's likely right.

I'm not sure what we do if we can't kill the mildew on the ceiling. Repainting is meant to protect the underlying structure; if the mildew is already there, it will keep on doing more damage. The walls are wallboard (compressed cardboard). I'm not sure if the ceiling is the same material, something else, or part wallboard and part something else.

We also have the problem that Scott's not willing to use the ceiling fan and vent when he showers because he gets too cold. Even if we get rid of the existing mildew, it will come back as long as he doesn't use the vent.

We left a voice message with an electrician recommended by [personal profile] evalerie. He hasn't called back yet, so we don't know if he got the message or not or if/when he might be available.

Monday, I got four loads of laundry done and changed our sheets. I got no chores done yesterday apart from making Scott and Cordelia take the trash to the curb. Then pick up was delayed until Friday (or next week) due to the cold which is for the best since the work would be extremely dangerous in that sort of weather but also is something we found out five minutes after the bins went to the curb. I think the timing is the part I wish had been different.

I'm worried about the mail carriers. I haven't heard anything about suspension of service, but sending them out in this is potentially lethal. If we routinely got these temperatures, it would be different, but we don't. Having my mail would be nice, but it's not risking someone's life levels of necessary. I suppose it's hard for the USPS to sort out which bits of mail are that urgent.

I'm not sure what I'll get done today. I've already got a headache, and a lot will depend on if I can kill it or not. It's got all the signs of a migraine, so I'm starting there. I've taken an Amerge and asked Scott to make me ginger tea. I already had my daily caffeine. I haven't eaten much, but the idea of food is repulsive. The idea of preparing food is beyond what I can manage.

The number of days that I've been able to sleep in since mid-December is giving me some further ideas about my sleep and my tendency toward morning headaches.

When I'm on my back, I sleep better, generally. Having a neck pillow and nothing under my head is vastly better than being on my back with a full pillow, even a really, really thin/flat one. All of that decreases the likelihood of a headache. After 5-7 hours of sleeping with the neck pillow, however, having it starts to hurt, and I generally wake enough to get rid of it. If I get rid of it and take off the c-PAP at the same time, I'm less likely to wake with a headache. If I get rid of the neck pillow and keep wearing the c-PAP, that's a guaranteed headache.

If I spend too many days in a row getting only 5-6 hours of sleep a night, my brain stops working, so getting up when the neck pillow starts to hurt isn't viable. Also, when I'm not adding salt to absolutely everything, I get headaches even after sleeping that long.

I'm still trying to figure out a solution for this.

Usually, that headache will go away gradually as I spend time upright and get food and caffeine. Today, it hasn't. It might be menstrual. It might be too much disruption of my routine (and I think that the routine is more an issue than me needing time alone). It might be me freaking out about the things I thought we'd get done that aren't going to happen. It might be all of the above; it probably is all of the above.

The change with all of the added salt is interesting. I still have dry mouth from my meds, but it feels less urgent, so I'm drinking less water. It feels kind of like my mouth and throat are absorbing salt from what I put in my water.

I have more saliva, and my mucus membranes are generally feeling better. I can taste salt in my mouth, though, which seems weird. I'm peeing about the same amount/frequency, and it looks very pale, so I think that I'm still getting plenty of fluid. I haven't had nausea that wasn't migraine associated, and I haven't generally had migraines.

I would like to have more precision in terms of adding salt, some sort of target dose rather than me looking at my food and drink and weighing how I feel and whether extra salt is necessary. When we're eating out, people give me extremely weird looks for adding salt to things like coffee. I think there's some amount of looking at my weight and assuming that I must have high blood pressure instead of low.

Experimenting with this many variables and a sample size of one makes drawing conclusions hard. I have found some studies that indicate that low salt diets increase insulin resistance and increase blood sugar generally. I've also found some studies that indicate no correlation at all. None of them are big or, I think, well controlled in terms of other variables. I do know, though, that I'm much less interested in sugar since I've started adding salt. I'll still eat sweets if we've got cookies or something, but when I eat them, I can tell that they're not actually what I want.

Kroger brand vanilla ice cream sprinkled with salt is surprisingly delicious.

Date: 2019-01-30 07:44 pm (UTC)
lunabee34: (Default)
From: [personal profile] lunabee34
I'm glad your salt experiments have you feeling better.

Date: 2019-01-31 02:32 pm (UTC)
jss: (simpsons)
From: [personal profile] jss
> We should go to the credit union before the end of the month, too.

If you're a UMCU customer and need anything other than an ATM, nope. All offices and branches were closed yesterday and are closed today due to the weather.

February 2023

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12 131415161718
19 202122 232425
262728    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:04 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios