the_rck: (Default)
I'm feeling cranky as hell today and kind of want to scream at the entire medical profession. When a doctor suggests 'lifestyle changes' and I say, "I have barriers x, y, and z. How do I address them?" that is, in fact, still me needing medical help. I wouldn't bring things up as barriers if they weren't, in actual fact, problems I don't know how to solve. I know that my problems don't fit any neat boxes and that having the usual solutions be unworkable is frustrating. I know that. I really do.

But the usual solutions being unworkable means I need more help not less. I suppose that the real answer is that my doctors aren't going to tell me that my problems could be solved by having twice the income we do, and I'm pretty sure that that's the only effective fix.

Cut for a certain amount of bleakness )

When I say I have anxiety about going outside, this is what I mean (31 overlapping points) )

Most of the stuff under the cut is me venting and me tracking this stuff for my own use. Somehow, I don't think any of these issues can be helped by exposure therapy.
the_rck: (Default)
Health related TMI, mostly venting )

I want to snarl at the universe just to regain some feeling of having any agency in the face of all of this.
the_rck: (Default)
Scott tried to nap most of yesterday, but his throat hurt enough to keep waking him. He stayed home today and actually slept. I made him go to urgent care, mostly for a strep test. The doctor there recommended Vick's on the soles of his feet at bedtime. I'll be damned if I can figure out why. Scott has done it on the off chance that it's less ineffectual than we expect, so the whole bedroom smells of menthol.

Cordelia had a choir field trip today, and we got a phone call this evening to tell us that she'd been marked with an unexcused absence from her 4th period class. The school is really and truly terrible about recording excused absences for school related activities. Last year, Cordelia had an unexcused absence due to being required to take the PSAT on the secondary date (after having had the flu during the original window for it). The school district requires 9th graders to take that test.

I'll probably have to call the school and be cranky tomorrow. I'll put it at the top of my very long to-do list. I didn't get much done today at all.

To-do list )

I probably won't manage the prescription pick up, not with so many other things needing to be done. I can do all those things or get the prescription but not both.

Of course, this assumes that my current migraine goes away. I've taken all of the medications I can. I think it's largely menstrual with a large heap of perimenopause to magnify it.
the_rck: (Default)
Yesterday was overall awful for me in ways that were due to other people being completely thoughtless in understandable ways. I'm still kind of mad at Scott because we've been married for 25 years. I ought to be able to count on him to be paying attention and to advocate for me when I can't do it myself.

He feels that it's unfair for me to expect him to understand and to keep current on all of my health issues. From his point of view, I need to tell him specifically when there's an issue and then remind him when it's pertinent. Every damned time it comes up.

Details and venting )

I was upset enough last night that I just stayed in our room and didn't interact except with Scott and Cordelia. I was afraid that I'd either break down crying or actually punch somebody. (One BIL mansplains loudly and constantly. My FIL is evangelical about whatever he's currently into and won't accept the possibility that the research is questionable).

Nobody intentionally hurt me. I had hoped to avoid having people realize that it was more than me feeling physically unwell, but Scott tells me that everyone knows I'm upset.

Scott went out and got me a tiny container of Haagen-Daaz last night. I watched a bunch of episodes of Murder She Wrote and tried to calm down. I just still found myself getting cranky and picking at inconsistencies and misuse of vocabulary and generally not being to sort of person who could handle being around extended family.

Today, I ended up with both a menstrual migraine and cramps and so only went downstairs briefly for breakfast. I took Tylenol when I got up. I took naproxen two hours later and an Amerge not long after that. I took another Amerge four hours after the first. I can sit up without dizziness/head pain now. I still have nausea and cramps.

I don't usually get both cramps and migraine, so yesterday's upset may be contributing. It might also just be perimenopause and crap timing.

I expect to go down for dinner, but mainly, I want to go home and not have to deal with this.
the_rck: (Default)
The OT has some very expensive suggestions for things that might help me and a couple of things that she'd like me to do but admits may not be feasible. I think there are also some things that I do that she wants me to stop but that I have sound reasons for doing. She just doesn't comprehend those reasons as valid.

A lot of venting about suggested fixes and the problems with them )

I just don't want to spend $$$ on things that won't actually do anything helpful and that will also need more money and a lot of work to be adapted so that they're not harmful and not otherwise wasted.

Conflicting accommodation needs for the win!
the_rck: (Default)
Because life wasn't complicated enough...

We now don't have electricity. DTE says three more hours to get it back. I need to call the plumber to find out if they can work without electricity.

I heard a bang right before the power went which usually means a neighborhood outage, so I'm hoping more people report it so that it gets moved up the list of priorities. If nothing else, I want my shoulder heating pad.

ETA: Ten minutes after I posted, power came back. DTE says it was 'bird or animal damage to DTE equipment,' and it does appear to have been neighborhood wide.

I'm still glad I had ordered lunch delivered before things went out. Eating that filled the time that I would otherwise have spent worrying.
the_rck: (Default)
I am in really ridiculous territory when I look at a draft and ask myself, "Is this totally implausible within the cosmology/world building of Zelazny's Amber books?" I hadn't actually thought that was a border anyone could approach.

Then I realized that I put that line in different places when writing fic versus creating an Amber Diceless game. Corwin really could have been a talking bear, right? (It's an old internet argument about what happens if one accepts the idea that Corwin might have lied or omitted things in his story. If any bit of it isn't 100% true, then he very easily could be a talking bear. We'd have no way to know.)

I must be very, very tired because I just had the impulse to figure out what happens if I write something where Corwin actually is a talking bear... Would that change anything at all? I suppose that the sword fights and horseback riding all become less plausible...

Either this story works, or I just took a cannonball off a plot cliff. I really can't tell (I'm pretty sure which side Scott would come down on, but he'd be doing it for characterization reasons because he thinks that 'extreme measures' aren't common in the setting. I'm almost 100% certain that he's thinking of the tabletop game rather than the novels.)
the_rck: (Default)
My doctor's nurse emailed me back yesterday and offered an appointment this afternoon. I emailed back to say that I wanted it, but then she called this morning to say it had been taken. Then she heard me cough and got me an appointment with someone else. I took a cab both ways because the bus would have been a really stupid move on my part. I called one person about maybe getting a ride, but she had a sick child who couldn't be left or taken with, and at that point, I really needed to call a cab if I was going to.

It is, congratulations to me, still asthma. We did a chest x-ray just to be sure there wasn't lurking pneumonia, and I almost said no to it because the odds were against me having pneumonia with no other symptoms but post-nasal drip. And I was right; I don't have pneumonia.

But laughing, bending over for more than a couple of seconds, reaching up, cold air, talking, walking far, stairs... All of that makes me feel like I'm going to start coughing.

I found my peak flow meter this morning. I haven't used it in years, so I don't remember what the numbers should be. If the green, yellow, and red markers are where they should be though (and I can't think why they wouldn't be), I'm in the yellow but only barely out of the green. I remember that, all those years ago, I started feeling that something was wrong if I was near the bottom of the green range ( the range there is 430-500. I'm coming in at about 420 now). But I'm a decade older, so I have no idea if my range has changed. When I never had symptoms (so the last more than decade), tracking things fell off my to do list.

Feeling that way was consistently a sign that I was near to problems and might yet go either way. Often, it was the first sign that I was coming down with a cold and started two or even three days before I had any other symptoms. This time, I'm already sick and had been for a few days before I started feeling like this, so who knows?

The asthma started being more or less constant mid-afternoon yesterday. Taking an Ativan decreased the intensity by about half, so there's definitely some component of anxiety making it worse. That's not something that's ever been a thing before, so I didn't expect it. I was mostly just thinking that I had to go out with Cordelia for the meeting for her online PE class and that taking Ativan before such things, several hours before, is usually wise because I have more issues with anticipatory anxiety than with anxiety while I'm doing things. Also more issues with the anxiety that's been in abeyance while I do things slamming me afterwards in ways that wreck me physically.

The new writing I did yesterday was more of a spew-things-out-as-I-think-of-them sort of thing than an actual story/potential story. Some of it may be usable, but I suspect that's only bits.

I wasn't able to do the things with Cordelia that I'd planned. It was too cold for me to spend much time outside and still be able to breathe, and I knew I couldn't manage the walk from the library to Community. Scott dropped us off and then went home to rake the last of the leaves and then shower. I sat during the orientation/class meeting and talked to another mother. We think we met, years ago, through [personal profile] evalerie and the La Leche League playgroups. Her daughter is seven or eight months older than Cordelia but in the same grade and is doing the online gym because she does competitive synchronized figure skating (not a thing I had ever heard of). Her mother said sixteen girls on the ice at once which seems like a lot to me in a space the size of an ice rink. Maybe it was six and I'm remembering wrong?

At any rate, with daily classes and weekend trials, tests, and competitions, her daughter didn't feel that she could also handle gym. The online course will let her use her skating classes and practices for the exercise part of the requirement, so she'll just need to document it and do the written work/projects.

I ended up not eating dinner last night. I had some new-to-me chai around 2 p.m. that gave me mild reflux, and we didn't really have anything that I could easily reach that was also easily portable. Most of the bread (two of three partial loafs) had turned out to be moldy on Sunday. I'd used the two pieces in the bag that wasn't moldy to make sandwiches for Scott for Monday and yesterday. He picked up bread on his way home Monday, but he got rye. He loves rye, but Cordelia won't eat it, and I have issues with it. I think that my problem is with caraway rather than with rye, and this is seedless rye, so maybe I can eat it. It just seemed like a thing I didn't want to experiment with while already feeling iffy.

I wasn't all that hungry when we got home after the class, anyway, so I don't feel like it was a big burden.

I slept very badly last night. It was one of those nights when I kept startling awake. It wasn't full adrenaline pumping had-a-nightmare sorts of things, but it felt like there was a rule being enforced that I was only allowed to sleep for so long and then had to wake fully, look at the clock, and try to find a better way to sleep. I tried with the c-PAP on. I tried with it off. I tried with it on again. I had some fairly vivid dreams but have lost most except for the slim, jacketless, powder blue hardcover books with gold print on the covers. They contained Doctor Who stories that Scott and I were, for some reason, reading to Cordelia. There was gold pring on the cover, and I was trying to convince Scott that the next one we read her should contain-- I kept trying to indicated a beating heart with my hands so as not to spoil the story for Cordelia.

I think that dream stuck with me because I woke and boggled. There are so many it-would-never-happen bits of that.

While I was changing for the chest x-ray this morning, just for a tiny additional bit of suck, I got the portal neutralized notice on the Ingress portal I captured when we were at Interlochen in August. I was still more than a month from getting the badge with it, and it looks like the person who took it fully deployed on it, so I don't think it was a guardian hunting thing (for one thing, I don't play enough for anyone to particularly know who I am and have that level of animosity). I had kind of thought that the portal might last once it got through September because it's a gated campus with public access only at certain times of year. 11 a.m. on a Wednesday seems like a weird time for an open to the public concert, but it could have been someone with a local school group concert or a parent with a sick child at the school or... Who knows?
the_rck: (Default)
I could try to squeeze in some sort of game this morning. Scott's running stuff from 10:00 to noon and from 2:00 to 4:00. Cordelia's playing Fluxx of some flavor from 11:00 to noon and needs to be at the downtown library at 2:00 to meet her best friend. I can either go home between noon and 2:00 or hang out all afternoon until Scott gets done. We won't have a room, and if I can't find a game to play, I'll be stuck with either just my phone or with one of my library books (the main thing against the library book is that it's due today and can't be renewed. I'm only about ten pages into it, and I don't see finishing it even if I do nothing else). My laptop's only usable for a short time without me plugging it in. I'm not sure that fifteen minutes to half an hour is worth the effort of hauling it out.

We lose the hotel room at 12:30, so I can't simply hang out there. Also, I have two library DVDs that can't be renewed that I'd like to get through. I was going to watch one of them this morning, but apparently, the DVD is formatted in some way to prevent it being recognized by my laptop drive. I think I've had this problem before with DC animated shows on DVD, so I'm assuming it's the company rather than a defective DVD. Also I was able to get it started on the DVD player at home. I just didn't have time to watch it there.

Scott is on his way home right now because he forgot to pack the game that he's to run five minutes from now. Last night, he asked the folks running the games library if he could reserve a copy to run. They said yes, but they misheard him. They don't have a copy of this game but rather one of a game with a very similar title (Scott's running Roll for the Galaxy. They have Race for the Galaxy). Cordelia's down at his table now to let people know that he is on his way. I think that he should be back by 10:15 because he was about three minutes from home when I started this paragraph.
the_rck: (Default)
Cordelia went out for a few hours this afternoon with her middle school friends. They've decided to alternate weeks with movie night on Friday one week and a Sunday afternoon gabfest the next. I think that one of the girls can't do things on Fridays, but I'm not sure.

Scott's asleep. At this point, I don't see a point in waking him at all until morning. He napped a little while Cordelia was out (he provided transportation both ways), but apart from that hour to hour and a half, he had been up for roughly twenty three hours when he lay down to sleep. I'll have to wake him for a little when I go to bed because I have to be able to see which medication bottles are which.

We went to Bob Evans for breakfast this morning after Scott got home and showered. After we got home from that, Scott did the grocery shopping while I started in on laundry. He did the library run after dropping Cordelia off at her friend's house.

Scott having had to work last night means that I still haven't tried taking two of the Halcion tablets to see how that affects my sleep. I'm not willing to do it unless he'll be there during the night and in the morning.

I wrote about 500 words last night. Sadly, I wrote it at the point when I should have been in bed and asleep, so I've been dragging all day. I keep looking at the floor and thinking about lying down there in spite of knowing how much doing that would hurt. I have no idea why my brain thinks the floor is more attractive than the couch. Maybe because I've tried the couch several times in the last two weeks?

We're going to try to figure out how to upgrade Cordelia's laptop. There are things she wants to do now that the machine is too old in terms of hardware to support, and we expect that high school will bring things she actually needs to do that need better hardware. If nothing else, she's taking digital photography later this year. I'm pretty sure we will have a hard time finding software for that that will work on a Macbook made in 2008.

Upgrading my laptop is going to have to wait. We still haven't paid off my current laptop or Cordelia's. We got them refurbished, so we didn't pay full price, but I'm not sure Scott's decision in that regard was necessarily wise because what he ended up getting was only a very little bit newer than what we used to have and stopped being able to advance in terms of OS within the first six months we had them. For me, it's less important because I mostly chat, do email, write, and browse the web. I don't stream much or play games. I don't need the latest bells and whistles in my word processor, not as long as other people can still open and read my documents if I share them.

Scott's thrilled at the idea of me not doing Yuletide. He says that all I talk about during the writing period is my story and that that makes him feel like I'm not actually present. I pointed out that I'm always thinking of stories and that I'm happier when I'm writing. I should have added that I just talk to him about the Yuletide stories because he often knows the fandoms and because they're almost never smut. I do 90% of my writing for any exchange/challenge at points when I'm alone, but my brain never stops churning with story ideas.

I need to try to find a chance to talk to him about this when Cordelia's not around. I feel like I don't have all that much that's mine and like he's saying I shouldn't have anything if it attracts attention. I'm pretty sure that's not what he means, but it's still hurtful and pisses me off.
the_rck: (Default)
Drat. I've gotten to the end of the second chapter of this Labyrinth story for [community profile] pod_together, and that's not an acceptable point to end the story. I really don't want it to go on much longer, and I had thought I could find an ending there. I have no idea what chapter three should involve. So I'll try to work on the other story for the challenge until I figure it out.

I mostly cat waxed yesterday. I think I managed to write about 150 words, and I didn't do much else worth talking about.

I couldn't get back to sleep after Scott got up this morning, so I'm think I should probably try to nap later. We're expecting friends this evening for Scott's Firefly game, and I don't want to be only 30% there the way I was last time we played.

Both of the stories I wrote for Not Prime Time have long, enthusiastic comments from the recipients. It makes me feel as if I didn't thank my writer properly. I love the story I got, but I'm terrible at trying to come up with things to say, so I only managed about three sentences. Hopefully, my writer will realize that I meant it. For some reason, AO3 didn't send me a kudos notification yesterday. I know I got some on the NPT stories, but AO3 hasn't officially told me yet. (And, yes, I checked my spam folder.)

I think that Scott doesn't quite get that, if I don't want to watch a show, I also don't want to listen to it. He's been binge watching the most recent season of Arrow and is going to The 100 next. Listening to the shows in only a little less stressful for me than watching them, and it becomes worse if he's playing a noisy game with shooting and explosions on his laptop at the same time. (I'm not sure that it can really be called 'watching' if the game window completely hides the show window.) He's generally also talking sporadically to me. I don't want to give up the conversation or the time just hanging out together, but...

I think that he deals better with a lot of varied and noisy input than I do because his work environment is noisy enough that everyone has to work constantly at focusing on the sounds that are relevant to what they're doing right then. They all wear ear protection, of some sort, too. Me, I can't hold a conversation in the same room with a dryer running. I've never been able to, going back at least as far as college.
the_rck: (Default)
I'm at 11000 words for the month so far. I'm not quite sure how that happened given that I haven't been working on the things I really ought to finish because of being too stressed about the laptop issues. Apparently, I've been writing plenty on other things.

Scott had to work 3 a.m. to 7 a.m. this morning. I was a little worried when I woke up at 8:30 to discover that he wasn't home yet. I figured he'd probably gone out for breakfast, and that did in fact turn out to be the case. He's been giving one of his coworkers rides home, and they were both working overtime this morning, so the other guy bought him breakfast. Scott really didn't have a good way to let me know without waking me up, and I'm pretty sure he expected that I'd sleep longer. He was only five minutes from home when I got up.

I'm kind of tempted, right now, to lie down again. I'm surprised because, counting hours, I should be fine.

Scott and Cordelia are planning to go see the Spiderman movie this afternoon.

I have one library book due tomorrow that I know I can finish in time to return it then. I can renew it, but it's a manga volume. I'll feel silly renewing that. Also, if I finish it, I'll be able to return everything that's due tomorrow. That never happens, so it will feel like an accomplishment. I've got two other slim graphic novels, both aimed at about ages 8-10, that I should also try to finish. I keep looking at them and thinking that I could finish both of them in about twenty minutes. I just have to sit down and actually do it.

I have two other library items that can't be renewed, but both are due later. One of them, I may not read at all because, although I'm intrigued by the world, the content I expect in this volume has several things that are generally DNWs for me. Then again, it's a novella. It shouldn't take long to read if I can just start. (I'm sensing a pattern here...)

I'm looking at August and feeling very frustrated. There's one day when Cordelia has three places she's supposed to be simultaneously. She's volunteering that day, has a doctor's appointment, and has mandatory orientation for high school. The other option for orientation is the day that they'll be coming back from choir camp, so there's no chance at all of her being able to attend that day. It's four hours back from Interlochen, and orientation for 9th graders starts at noon that day. I can't imagine that they'll get them back anywhere near that early.

I've already complained to the school about the problem of scheduling 9th and 10th grade orientation for a day when all choir, orchestra, and band students can't possibly attend. It's not that they didn't know about the conflict. It's that they don't care.
the_rck: (Default)
And my laptop has decided to malfunction in a new and interesting way. It's been having problems with the charging cord connecting properly for a while and often would just stop charging and go to battery power. Now, if the cord is connected while the laptop is on, it crashes constantly, just going dead as if it had no power at all (in spite of having a charge in the battery and the battery being brand new). Pretty much any minor jostle of the the laptop, the surface it's resting on, the floor near the table where it sits, anything at all, will make the thing go utterly dead.

I can only get it to charge when it's off and not getting jostled at all. I tried putting it to sleep to charge, but it will still die that way, and I don't like the uncontrolled shut down and its attendant risks to my data.

Scott has purchased a part that he hopes will address the problem, but it won't arrive until Monday, and who knows how long it will take him to find time to attempt the repair. In the mean time, I'm going to be online in bits and pieces as my battery lasts. I can do some things from my phone, but I don't get my theredck email there, and there are some irritations about interacting with DW and AO3 that way. I can write a bit in Gdocs on my phone, but I can't get things from Gdocs to anywhere else there.

I'm at 68% power on my laptop right now and am going to try to get a few things done before I shut it down again to charge. Mainly, I want to sign up for an exchange. I looked at doing it on my phone and realized that I'd have to settle for a very bare bones thing with no links or prompts or DNWs because of having to type all of it from scratch. I also haven't yet figured out what to offer, so I need to print off the list of things I considered possible in that direction and mark it by hand. I have enough battery to do that on the laptop, but I kind of think it might be wise to do as much as I can manage not on the laptop.
the_rck: (Default)
My hard drive just died completely. Scott thinks it's irretrievable. He won't have time today to work on it due to family obligations.

Cordelia and I are both feeling terrible, but... Family obligations. Scott is cranky and snarling at everything. Great fun.

I keep thinking there has to be a good day this weekend, and life keeps saying no.
the_rck: (Default)
The afternoon yesterday was laid back. Scott and Cordelia gave me seasons 4 and 5 of Leverage and season 1 of Batman Beyond. Scott and I went to the library around 4:00 and did a little Ingress while we were out.

Cordelia watched The Fellowship of the Ring and was very puzzled as to why people like it so much. She also was very annoyed by the lack of female characters. When Arwen showed up, Cordelia noted that this was the first female character of any note/with lines of dialogue.

On our way to Brighton, Scott took Whitmore Lake Road part of the way with the idea of avoiding construction. Then he decided to go back to 23 because it had looked clear from what he could see of it. That led us to driving through some very slow bits of construction. I'm not sure we actually avoided any construction by taking Whitmore Lake Road at all, so I'm not sure what the point was.

Food frustrations/general crankiness )

I wasn't able to use my c-PAP for the whole night last night because part of my nose is inflamed and hurts terribly when anything touches it. I'm going to apply heat and see if that helps it resolve.
the_rck: (Default)
Pretty much all venting )

The chores I did yesterday were enough to make the tendinitis act up again, so I'm not looking forward to the walking I'll have to do today. Right now, my plan is to take a cab to UHS, get lunch somewhere nearby after the appointment, hang out somewhere (Espresso Royale, probably) until about 2:00 and then get the bus to the hospital. PT is 2:45 to 3:45, so I'll just wait for Scott to be able to pick me up after work. I really ought to make a lunch and take it with me, but I don't want to deal with that.

I've tried ice on the tendon. That hurts all the way up my leg. Right now, I'm applying heat. That's making my calf muscle ache, too, but I'm hoping it will loosen the dratted thing up enough that I can stretch it properly.

My left elbow has started giving me trouble. The pain is at the back of the joint and fairly pinpoint. It is, sadly, probably more tendinitis. I think it's stress from trying to compensate for not using my hands in the ways I normally would.

I didn't go with Scott and Cordelia to Cordelia's PT appointment yesterday. I was so very, very tired that I thought that staying home was a good idea. I haven't generally had the option, so that was nice.

Scott's avoiding pork products now. I'm not sure if he's going to try one more time to make sure that he didn't just have a bug last weekend or if he's just cutting all of that permanently. I think that, if it is an allergy, one more exposure won't make it suddenly as bad as the beef allergy, but I know that such things get worse with more exposure, so this isn't going to be something he can indulge in occasionally.

I'm working on clearing out all of the frozen stuff we've got that contains pork. Scott buys potstickers and spring rolls frequently, and he never looks to see what's in them as long as they don't say 'beef' on the front. It's resulted a few times in me not having easy options for feeding Cordelia's Muslim friends, so I've learned to check the freezer ahead of when I expect to have them over to see if I need to make Scott go out and buy something that will be okay.
the_rck: (Default)
Yesterday was a good news/bad news deal.

The very good news is that the uterine biopsy results came back early and are clean. This means going ahead with the HSG which sounds moderately unpleasant, but I prefer that (and the chance that that might be clean, too) to the alternative.

Venting about OT )

I've got PT at 10 this morning. I'm taking the bus to get there, but I might take a cab back. I would like to be able to do something after the appointment beyond collapsing and staring at the walls. Especially since there's still a chance that Cordelia's friends might come over for movie watching tonight.

I'm putting another thing on my to do list-- I need to write down the things I have trouble with, due to hand pain, so that I know exactly what things I want to address. The two catalogs I have only contain two useful looking adaptive devices, and we already own both. (Seriously, handle weighted silverware would be a terrible idea. I already have trouble with what we have weight-wise because chunky handles were in the year we got married. We got the lightest handles available, but they're heavy and unpleasantly thick. Oh, and apparently there's something terribly wrong with me that I find big things harder to grasp than thin things.) Most of the ones that might apply to my situation are aimed at food preparation and eating and look like they would make both infinitely harder than the pain does.

Yesterday also contained some school related WTF? in terms of PTO emails. At 8:00 a.m., they sent out a message announcing that they want to do a middle school fun night next week on Friday and need volunteers. At 2:30 that afternoon, they sent out a second message saying that they would have to cancel the fun night if they didn't get more volunteers immediately. School runs from 8:00 until 3:00. No parent would have had the opportunity to ask their child or children if they wanted to go. Almost all parents would have been at work during that window, too, and might not have access to personal email or personal calendars or time to consult with partners about plans or to set up babysitting for younger kids or... Well, it's seriously WTF? They couldn't wait twenty four hours for the second email? Or send out the initial announcement with more than 6.5 hours before their panic point?

Cordelia doesn't want to go. I rather expected that. I probably wouldn't have volunteered anyway because there's a chance I'm going to be wrecked by the time we get to evening that day. Also, I can't stand for long, can't do much with my hands, and generally can't do things right now. The jobs they were talking about needing to fill pretty much all involved two or three hours of standing.

Scott considered signing up because they want someone to run boardgames, but with Cordelia not going and with us not knowing what sort of state I'll be in, he decided it wasn't a good idea.
the_rck: (Default)
Health related stress )

Anyway, between this and having a fic to write, I probably won't be answering comments with any regularity until the end of the month or so.

February 2023

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12 131415161718
19 202122 232425
262728    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 02:54 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios